My Favourite Things..., Top Fives...

My top five observations about the world of Grey’s Anatomy…

Towards the end of my year abroad one of the girls I went travelling with became obsessed with Grey’s Anatomy. Having never watched it myself I thought little of it apart from occasionally teasing her about her inability to tear herself away. Then I came home and a few weeks later my parents and I finished watching House. Suddenly my long time love affair with Gregory House was over and I had a doctor sized hole in my life.

And so, I did the only thing I could think of to ease the pain, I started watching Grey’s Anatomy. Some amount of time has passed since then, I’m not sure how long, it’s just gone by in a blur of surgeries and various Mc-attractive people but now I’m beginning the eighth season and already the end is too close for my liking. The moment when I won’t be able to end one heart wrenching, unbearably tense season finale and start right on with the next episode a minute later is a terrifying thought.

Back in the early days

So yes I’m not quite up to date with it yet and I’m trusting that all you lovely people will not comment with any spoilers, possibly destroying my life in the process. I’ve managed this far with only one major story line being given away and I think that’s pretty good going.

Anyway, although I’m not quite finished with it (and therefore sorry if any of these points contradict future episodes) I thought that there was a blog post to be made that couldn’t wait a minute longer cataloging the things we can learn both about Meredith Grey’s world and the world of medicine.

1) If you work in a hospital then you will have slept with at least 3 other staff members within a relatively small space of time

I’m not judging but these doctors get around A LOT. I guess it’s fair enough; they’re under a lot of pressure and need to let off steam some how but thier complicated sexual histories do occasionally impact on patient care. Also, those on-call rooms must be disgusting.

I guess he is a little dreamy…

2) Doctors drink too much and then go and operate on people

I don’t know if maybe they’ve matured now because the further I’ve got into it they don’t seem to do this as much. Or maybe the creators realised they were damaging people’s faith in the medical profession by showing it’s surgeons to be continually drunk. But Jesus H Christ in the first few seasons I would not have wanted these surgeons coming near me for fear of being vommed on, never mind letting them sticking anything sharp into me in the hopes of saving my life.

3) Musical episodes are a bad idea…a really bad idea

So last night I was settling down to watch the fall out from a car accident involving two main characters, one of whom was pregnant. As you come to expect with a show like Grey’s Anatomy, I was fully prepared to cry A LOT. Honestly that’s part of the reason I love it so much, all that crying is very cathartic. Anyway, what I got was something so hilariously cringeworthy that I was almost crying FROM EMBARRASSMENT. For some reason the people over at Grey’s Anatomy HQ had decided it’d be a great idea to turn this into a musical episode, with various characters bursting into emotional renditions of overplayed pop songs. It was just so bad. Never again please.

4) If you are Meredith Grey or anyone close to her then everything that can go wrong will go wrong

With any drama you’re expecting a fair amount of bad stuff to go down but every now and then I feel like someone should cut Meredith a break. I mean, just listing off the top of my head, (DON’T READ THIS BIT IF YOU’RE BEHIND ME AND DON’T WANT SPOILERS) her mother’s died, her step mother died, her father became an alcoholic and almost died, her husband’s been shot, she’s had a miscarriage, she adopted a baby only to have it taken away, various friends have died/left in terrible circumstances…well the list could go on but I’m depressing myself.

Not gonna lie, I’m kind of in love with her

5) Nothing beats an inspirational monologue

For those who aren’t addicts such as myself, each episode begins with a character, normally Meredith Grey although occasionally others step in, making some philosophical statements in a voice over. It’s repeated at the end of the episode when normally whatever issues have been resolved and you’re left feeling inspired and ready for the challenges in your own life. Or to watch another episode. It’s when that ending monologue leaves you feeling downhearted, that’s when you know some bad shit’s gonna go down.

So, I hope you’ve enjoyed my in depth look into Grey’s Anatomy, I’m off to watch a few more episodes.

That’s all for now

x

 

Standard

10 thoughts on “My top five observations about the world of Grey’s Anatomy…

  1. That was fantastic! I stopped watching after the first season as I had just had a baby and didn’t have the time it took to keep up with tv. Am sure it’s a show I could easily become addicted to. lol your “mc-attractive people” line and your first two points had me cracking up. Maybe someday will call on netflix to help me catch up. Thanks for sharing your insights πŸ™‚

    Like

  2. I was into Grey’s anatomy for a few seasons but left it now. And yes there have been a lot of ‘Mc-attractive people’ πŸ˜›
    Also, I have to admit that those monologues did inspire or at least make me sit up and think many a times πŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

