Music..., My Favourite Things...

My top five songs…#1

I’ve wanted to write about my all time favourite songs for a while now but it’s tricky to narrow it down to just five you know?

Not only that but I wanted to give a bit more attention to each one individually because they’re all quite different and special to me in different ways.

So, I’ve decided to just do a series of five posts each containing one of the songs and we’ll see how that goes.

First off is Dancing in the Dark by Bruce Springsteen.

My mum is a massive Bruce Springsteen fan and a few years ago she started playing his CDs in the car. We would go out somewhere and Bruce would be playing and this is the song that I remember always being crazy about.

Whenever I hear this song now it reminds me of being in the car with my mum dancing and singing at full volume. Just hearing the first note makes me smile.

Oh Bruce…

A few months ago I went to a Springsteen concert with my parents and my sister. It makes my mum very happy to know that she’s passed her love of Brucey down to us. When Dancing in the Dark came on I was jumping around like a crazy person.

The video to this song is also a keeper, it’s got Brucey dancing around on stage looking oh so young and then Courteney Cox comes along in her pre-friends days. Apparently the famous ‘Carlton Dance’ from Fresh Prince of Bel Air was based on the way she dances in this video…I think you can see the similarity!

Anyway, this song will always be an all time favourite. It’s mine and my mums song.

That’s all for now

x

Standard

5 thoughts on “My top five songs…#1

  1. Pingback: My top five songs…#2 | My Top Fives...

Leave a Reply

