My Favourite Things...

Blog birthday and a daily prompt…

WordPress just informed me that I started this blog a year ago. I’m not really counting it as a year because there was a huge long gap when I wasn’t blogging at all.

When in doubt, a picture of a cat is always appropriate

Still, a lot has changed over the past year and I might even give you lucky readers a chance to read a top fives about that tomorrow, depending on how I’m feeling.

Right now I just wanted to take a brief moment (and it will be brief because I’ve just got home from a friend’s house and I need to go to bed very soon) to consider today’s Daily Prompt. Which is actually about public speaking but I’m making it about my blog because it’s my blog’s birthday and so today is all about my blog.

For me, public speaking is something I don’t really come into contact with that much. I know that I can do it but I’d really rather not. I just don’t really enjoy everyone looking at me because I think I’m quite an awkward person.

What I do come into contact with a lot is writing. Writing right here for the ‘public’ to see.

It’s scary.

When I first started this blog a year ago I was safe in the knowledge that no one other than a handful of friends and family were reading it and even then I worried. Now I have people (not many but a few) who actually follow this blog, who comment on my posts and I appreciate every one of them. But it also means I have to check and check and check again that what I’m writing is coming across the way I want it to. And even more so, that I haven’t made any stupid mistakes that make me look like an idiot.

I’ve had posts that have been surprisingly popular when I thought they were pretty average and I’ve had posts I’ve poured my heart into and they’ve bombed with everyone but my parents who are eternally enthusiastic (and for that I am truly thankful).

Every time I press that publish button I have a moment when I think maybe I should have done something differently but then I remind myself that I just spent the last half an hour reading it over and over and checking it for mistakes.

Yeah public speaking is real hard…but it’s got nothing on this blogging stuff!

That’s all for now

x

P.s Thanks to anyone who actually does read and comment on my blog. I love you all very much in a platonic, internet friend kind of way.

Standard

11 thoughts on “Blog birthday and a daily prompt…

  1. Pingback: Black Socks Down | Edward Hotspur

  2. Ha I liked your ending! I really do enjoy reading this and I hope you know that I do read even if I don’t comment on all of them. It’s nice to get comments and feedback, so I’ll start doing that more often.
    Blogging can definitely be terrifying!

    Like

  3. Happy Blog Birthday – love this post. I didn’t actually think about people reading my blog (especially not regularly) when I started so I now have that sinking feeling when I realise that I’ve rambled so much that nothing makes sense (again) but better still I’ve pressed publish when I meant preview! You capture the tension so well and it’s always good to have enthusiastic parents.

    Like

    • Ah the accidental publish…a classic mistake, I have done that myself before. Always a scary moment!
      Haha yes enthusiastic parents are the best, I can always count on them 🙂

      Like

  4. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Naked with Black Socks | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  5. Pingback: I Don’t Have A Problem Telling It To Your Face… With A Smile | Molly Greye

  6. Pingback: Daily Prompt – Naked with Black Socks | Joe's Musings

  7. Pingback: Breaking a sweat around the room | Escaping a Daydream

Leave a Reply

