My Favourite Things...

My top five reasons to be thankful today…

I’ve been in kind of a bad mood recently. Not the whole time but there’s a few things bugging me which I need to get resolved. However, that’s not what this post is about.

The lovely Daily Prompt has given me a reason to write about good stuff instead, so that’s what I’m going to do. You know how I like to be positive.

Here’s five good things which I’m thankful for.

I might point out that these were five random things I could think of right now which are relevant to things I’ve been thinking about/have happened to me recently. It goes without saying (but I’ll say it anyway so that people don’t think I’m ungrateful) that above all I’m thankful for my family and friends and my health and all that jazz.

Right, on with the actual list.

1) Some blogging awards

Recently some lovely people nominated me for some blogging awards. I’d never received one before and then lo and behold I got two in one week. That’s made me really happy and I am VERY thankful. The relevant award posts will follow soon I promise.

2) Oh lordy it’s good TV season again

If I can give you one piece of advice, it’s to watch this right now.

I’d love to be the kind of person this wouldn’t be important to but the drought of worthwhile TV over the past few months is one of the few things that makes me dislike summer. Now that there’s zero chance of pleasant weather here in England I don’t have to feel guilty for staying in bed all day on the weekends and watching all the great TV which is about to start up again. The highlights for me will be Homeland and The Mindy Project. I thank the TV gods that it’s about to rain down great viewing options once more.

 

3) Interesting comments

My last blog was a bit more serious than usual and I had a few comments on it which I appreciated. This isn’t just because getting comments makes me feel loved (and everyone should do it more) but also because I really like hearing what other people think about what I’ve written, especially when it’s on a more serious topic. Everyone has different and interesting opinions and part of the reason I’ve got so into blogging is because I like reading other people’s opinions on things. Getting comments that make me think more about what I’ve written, whether they agree with me or not, is exactly why blogging is so good for me and I’m very thankful that people take the time to do it.

4) Carbs

This is fairly self explanatory. I’ve decided that the only way I’m going to survive this winter is by eating a lot of pasta and bread and I’m very thankful that these tummy warming treats exist to help me get through the next few months.

5) My boyfriend doesn’t like football

That’s right…put it in the bin

Football is back on the telly or so I gather from Twitter. Some big football thing happened the other day…I don’t know, I couldn’t care less. What I would care about is if I had to pretend to care about football so that I could make my boyfriend feel loved if he wanted to talk to me about it. Every time a guy mentions football in my presence or I see a tweet or facebook update about it or, god forbid, I accidentally see a second of a football match on TV, I remember how thankful I am that my boyfriend doesn’t like it. Or any sport at all really, we’re very well suited in that respect.

That’s all for now

x

Standard

18 thoughts on “My top five reasons to be thankful today…

  1. What a great post. It sometimes does us good to remind ourselves about the good things in life even though it doesn’t make the bad things go away it puts them in perspective. I like the autumn for the better tv too as well.

    Like

  2. That football comment, It threw me for a second and then I realized you’re not from the U.S. and there’s a soccer ball in that guy’s hand. Come over here and date a guy who likes our version of football. Do it. Men demanding buffalo dip and screaming at the T.V. like a bunch of lunatics is not a pretty sight especially since they’re usually hairy. If you say you don’t like football, you’re unpatriotic.

    I’m extremely curious about the comparison though. Maybe I’d enjoy it better over there or maybe all guys who like sports are all the same. Save us all.

    Like

    • Haha, yes I thought maybe American readers might think I’d gone a bit crazy for a second. That does sound pretty bad, sport just sends some people a bit insane doesn’t it?!
      I’m definitely glad I’ve managed to escape having a sports mad boyfriend.

      Like

  3. Pingback: Thank you, Thank you… Did I say thank you yet? | Okay, what if ?

  4. Me also love carbs. Yes, so agree that evenings will be enriched with return of TV programming. However, Stephen King’s ‘Under the Dome’ was a good summer serial. Don’t know programs you mentioned. I enjoy ‘Person of Interest’ and a few detective shows. Happy TV time.

    Like

  5. Pingback: I say today is about peace. | Rob's Surf Report

  6. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Thank You | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  7. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Thank You | life n me!

  8. Pingback: Muito Obrigada! | 3rdculturechildren

  9. Pingback: Daily Prompt – Thank You | Joe's Musings

  10. Pingback: Daily Prompt – Thank You | Joe's Musings

Leave a Reply

