Family & Home..., My Year Abroad...

Giving up…

So it’s a bit different today. I’m writing a response to a Daily Prompt and it’s not really a top fivey kind of thing…bear with guys, next post will be back to normal I promise!

As I usually do, I’m taking a kind of loose approach to this Daily Prompt and using it as an opportunity to write about something that has been on my mind an awful lot lately.

This is me normally

So the person I usually am is a person who hates giving up on things. I’ll refuse to admit that things aren’t working out far past the point I should have let go. Some would call it positivity, some would call it stupidity. Whatever it is, it’s the way I am but it’s the thing I’m going to need to be the opposite of for a while.

When I went on my year abroad I got taken in by this big adventure. I let life take over and I got distracted too easily from maintaining the friendships back home. There’s some people I used to be close to who I’ve let drift away, one in particular who I’m feeling the loss of. It’s my own fault in many ways but I guess they let me drift too.

Since I’ve been back I feel like I’ve tried so hard to get them to come back to me, to make things how they were. I’ve become preoccupied by it at points, I’ve dreamt about it and made plans and got upset about it more than seems rational. These people were my best friends though…that’s what it comes down to.

I’ve tried, I really have and I can’t think of anything else to do. I feel like I’ve dropped off their radar, I’ve become a friend that they used to be close to and maybe they’re ok with that. Now I need to be too.

Maybe one day there’ll be a chance things could go back to the way they were but for now I’m giving up. I’m taking this opportunity to do something completely opposite to my instincts and to who I normally am and letting it go before I let it consume any more of my thoughts.

That’s all for now

x

And here’s some more Daily Prompt posts in case you want to read some more…

  1. Rural Russia. Welcome! | Bright Moments Catcher
  2. Godrick Gnomish
  3. Sunset | Agrifun.com
  4. Welcome to Russia | Agrifun.com
  5. Agrifun: From City Slicker to Potato Picker | Bright Moments Catcher
  6. Daily Prompt: The Full Moon | Fasting, Food and other musings by determined34
  7. Daily Prompt: Nighttime | Books, Music, Photography & Movies : my best friends
  8. Daily Prompt: The Full Moon | Under the Monkey Tree
  9. Moon Dream: response to Daily Prompt | alienorajt
  10. Daily Prompt: Nighttime | DCMontreal
  11. When was the last full moon? | Sue’s Trifles
  12. The Goddess | Sincerely, Ms. Roberts
  13. Moonwashed in Rann of Kutch | Life is a Vacation
  14. A new and different me | Life & Times
  15. Daily Prompt: The Full Moon | littlegirlstory
  16. Daily Prompt: The Full Moon | The Land Slide Photography
  17. Think she is being good? | We Live In A Flat
  18. An Evening at the Fair | It’s a wonderful F’N life
  19. Changes the full moon brings | Journey of a Dutch Witch
  20. Fool Moon (short fiction)   | The Jittery Goat
  21. The Whole of the Moon | Nicki
  22. Nightfall | Andante Cantabile
  23. Two for Tuesday – Nighttime | Tommia’s Tablet
  24. Daily Prompt: The Full Moon | Faraziyya
  25. Daily Prompt: The Full Moon | Words We Women Write
  26. Daily Prompt; The Full Moon | terry1954
  27. Night | Vampire Maman
  28. Full Moon – A poem | JuSt ViSiTiNG THiS PLaNeT…
  29. Peaceful Gaze [Daily Prompt: The Full Moon] | unknowinglee
  30. Lycanthrope (Huitain) | Liars, Hypocrites & The Development of Human Emotion
  31. Moon on the rise | I Didn’t Just Wake Up This Morning with a Craving
  32. The numinous moon-imous | Random Encounters of an Inquisitive Mind
  33. “The Full Moon” | Relax
  34. Daily Prompt: The Full Moon | Kevin says the randomest things
  35. The Reckless Me. | ayimas
  36. Night | stubblytroll
  37. Not About You | clarior e tenebris
  38. Daily Prompt: The Full Moon | Completely Disappear
  39. The Were-Cap : The Full Moon | thanks for letting me autograph your cat
  40. snippet: Insomnia | cellarfloor
  41. The Full Moon | Blue Loft
  42. Dancing In The Moonlight | Breathing Space
  43. The Full Moon Me | Ty
  44. •Ø• too full moon •Ø• | The RunningFather Blog
  45. Daily Prompt: The Full Moon | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  46. Daily Prompt: Night in the City | SERENDIPITY
  47. Daily Prompt: The Full Moon (or I don’t like opposite day…) | Anne Squared
  48. A moon’s memory | shame
  49. ON A FULL MOON. | Fiction O’Clock
  50. Nighttime on the Hiking Trail… | The Rider
  51. Daily Prompt: the full moon « Equitherapy
  52. Night Time….daily-prompt-nighttime | Daily Observations
  53. The Full Moon | stubblytroll
  54. Daily Prompt: The Full Moon | prettyswan
  55. The Full Moon And The Call Of The Wild! | The Political and Social Chaos Blog
  56. Nighttime Royalty | The Magic Black Book
  57. Daily Prompt: The Full Moon | My Atheist Blog
  58. It Disturbs Me | Southern Eyez Photography
  59. Daily Prompt: The Full Moon | Let There be Peace on Earth
  60. Daily Prompt: Opposites Repel | One Starving Activist
Standard

10 thoughts on “Giving up…

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: The Full Moon | My Atheist Blog

  2. Pingback: In The Midnight Hour, He Cried “No More! No More! No More!” | Molly Greye

  3. Pingback: GREY SHADES | hastywords

  4. Pingback: GREY SHADES | hastywords

  5. Pingback: Daily Prompt: The Full Moon | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  6. Pingback: Do I really have a dark side? | Rob's Surf Report

  7. Pingback: My top five things about going back to university… | My Top Fives...

Leave a Reply

