My Future...

My top five things I want to be when I grow up…

Written in response to Daily Prompt: Ballerina Fireman Astronaut Movie Star

When I was 10 and someone asked me what I wanted to be when I grew up my answer, without pause, would be ‘An actress and dancer’. I didn’t have a shadow of a doubt in my 10 year old mind that that was what and who I was going to be.

Now I’m 22 and the question’s still being asked. The wording’s changed slightly, it’s ‘what are you going to do when you graduate?’ or (more irritatingly) ‘so what are you going to do with that degree?’ but it’s still the same question, people are still desperate to know what I’m going to do when I grow up. Now when someone asks me I simply shrug and say ‘haven’t got that far yet’.

I was a busy 10 year old and I took part in plenty of dance and drama classes, who knows if I could have tried to make a career out of it (although I’m inclined to say no, I have a strong feeling I was devoid of any obvious talent). Still, my life took a different direction and now I’m studying for an American Studies degree and waiting for a flash of inspiration which will tell me what my new dream is.

With a lack of a clear career goal here’s five other things I hope to be when I’m a ‘grown up’:

1) Happy – Whatever I end up doing

2) Living somewhere other than Birmingham – Fingers crossed for London

3) Still in touch with the great friends I have now

4) Financially secure – not rich, just comfortable

5) Well educated and still learning

That’s all for now

x

P.s. If you want to read some of the other responses to this Daily Prompt, here they are.

  1. Daily Prompt: Dreams | Books, Music and Movies : my best friends
  2. Do Dreams Die? | DG Toons
  3. Daily Prompt: Dancing at Disney | Under the Monkey Tree
  4. “Do Dreams Die” On DG Toons! | Eyes Through The Glass – A Blog About Asperger’s
  5. Follow the Script | Daily Prompt: Ballerina Fireman Astronaut Movie Star | likereadingontrains
  6. Daily Prompt: Ballerina Fireman Astronaut Movie Star – show us DREAMS. | masadiso79’s Blog
  7. Caught in the Act | Godrick Gnomish
  8. From Pilot to Skypilot… | The Rider
  9. Daily Prompt: Ballerina Fireman Astronaut Movie Star | Beefy’s House o’ Fun
  10. Daily Prompt–Origin Story-Wrapping up year one with the Brainiacs | Jaye’s Brain
  11. Daily Prompt| Ballerina Fireman Astronaut Movie Star | Nurse Chymeera? | thechymeeradiaries
  12. Lyrical Dreamer [Daily Prompt: Ballerina Fireman Astronaut Movie Star] | unknowinglee
  13. Daily Prompt: Dreams | alienorajt
  14. Shelved Popstar Dreams | Maggie’s Stories
  15. Life Is What Happens When You’re Making Other Plans | Living Young & Wild & Free
  16. Yesterday… and today | Neva Samaki
  17. The Scientist | das Nicht-zuhause-sein
  18. Daily Prompt: If only I could sing | jennifermarshcurtis
  19. Variations on a Familiar Song | clarior e tenebris
  20. Field of Dreams | The Jittery Goat
  21. Daily Prompt: Dreams | Motherhood and Beyond
  22. When I was 10… | sat n’ all that
  23. Dreams and the Continual Creation of our Reality | The Seeker’s Dungeon
  24. daily prompt: all grows’d up | r | one studio architecture
  25. When I grow up I wanna be… | MC’s Whispers
  26. Weekly Phoneography: Flowers in the sky | weliveinaflat
  27. Daily Prompt: Ballerina, Fireman, Movie Star | Valley Girl Gone Country
  28. Unplugged | Quest for Whirled Peas
  29. ballerina, fireman, astronaut, movie star | unquiet fabrications and offerings
  30. Daily Promt: When I Grow Up! | The Story of a Guy
  31. Daily Prompt: Dreams | A Taste of Morning
  32. Daily Prompt: Ballerina Fireman Astronaut Movie Star | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  33. Ballerina Fireman Astronaut Movie Star: Dreams | Khana’s Web
  34. From Explorer to Photographer | Nikoleta Stamataki
  35. Dreams Do Come True | Andante Cantabile
  36. Daily Prompt: Dreams and Maple Trees | A Good One
  37. When I grew up… | tornin2’s Blog
  38. Dream Come True! | Haiku By Ku
  39. Daily Prompt:”to sleep perchance to DREAM.” | Slam on the Brakes, Pull Over, Take the Picture
  40. Young Dreams | Sincerely, Ms. Roberts
  41. Daily Prompt: The Brilliance of Being Ten | One Starving Activist
  42. 10 | Hope* the happy hugger
  43. Daily Prompt: “A Professional Chess Player at Age 10″ | Creative Mysteries
  44. Preoccupational Calling | clarior e tenebris
  45. Three Things Serial: 2 Ballerina, Fireman, Astronaut | Teagan’s Books
  46. Daily Prompt: Ballerina Fireman Astronaut Movie Star | Basically Beyond Basic
  47. Dreams of the Young: WordPress Daily Prompt | Write on J.B.
  48. When I grow up, I want to be… | Random Encounters of an Inquisitive Mind
  49. Who Would Have Known | Summer Reminisce
  50. From pirate or marine biologist to journalist | Life is great
  51. Daily Prompt: Ballerina Fireman Astronaut Movie Star | reyoflight
  52. Daily Post| You Then vs You Now | The Mind of Profex
  53. Satellites and Dreams | I Didn’t Just Wake Up This Morning with a Craving
  54. A Passion That No Longer ‘Draws’ My Attention | Molly Greye
  55. Daily Prompt: Of Cheeseburgers and Science | cinnwriterblog
  56. Daily Prompt: Ballerina Fireman Astronaut Movie Star | “The Ish,” presented by the Bohemian Rock Star
Standard

7 thoughts on “My top five things I want to be when I grow up…

  1. Amy, those are five fabulous things to be! I know you’ll find the place where you want to live — just keep an open mind. For a decade I wanted to live in San Francisco, but housing just costs too much. I eventually moved from Nashville to New Mexico, figuring that was a start in the right direction. However, I loved that strange new place — not San Francisco! Then, silly me, trying to be a good grown up and provide for my future [if belatedly] I left for a job in a major east coast city. Now I’ve been trying to return for three years! I’ll keep trying. I know you’ll find “your place” too.

    Like

    • Thanks for reading and thanks for your thoughts! I’m making sure to keep an open mind about my future home, you never do know where life might take you. I hope you make it back to where you want to be in the end 🙂

      Like

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Ballerina Fireman Astronaut Movie Star 5/8 | FPFC

  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Ballerina Fireman Astronaut Movie Star | Maggie's Blog

  4. Pingback: Ballerina Fireman Astronaut Movie Star: Dreams | Khana's Web

  5. Pingback: My top five things my blog can tell you about me… | My Top Fives...

  6. hey–I have a friend in Birmingham 🙂 And she introduced me to IKEA! Finally got one here (Minnesota) a handful of years back and before that she was always “IKEA this” and “IKEA that” and I hadn’t a clue what she was talking about. Off to read your IKEA post now.

    Like

Leave a Reply

