My Year Abroad..., Travel...

My top five places I’ll go back to one day…

I miss travelling today. Or maybe I just miss America today. I’m not sure, I just know that today something is missing.

It’s cold and rainy in England so maybe that’s it, I miss being in sunny places and posting pictures of my tanned self on Facebook. I’ve spent the day in bed (again) and today it’s been the task of reading blog after blog that has kept me occupied. I can’t believe that I ever proclaimed the internet to be ‘boring’ (one of those moments where you feel like you’ve read and watched everything worthwhile in the whole of the world wide web), turns out all I needed in my life was a wealth of blogs to keep me occupied. At some point I feel like I might have to do a top five blogs I follow, although five isn’t nearly enough…why aren’t I doing top 10, top 20, top 100? Hmm, that would probably make for some boring reading, best to stick with five I think.

To indulge my travelling nostalgia I’m going to list the places I’ll (hopefully) go back to one day and, by extension, the places that I recommend you go…then we can be friends and talk about how great said places are.

Just to confirm, this list is not exhaustive, I’m limiting myself to the three and a half weeks I was officially ‘travelling’ so the East Coast places aren’t being included here.

1) San Francisco, CA

Definite top five cities in the world. It’s beautiful, it’s interesting, it’s got amazing people and a really cool bridge. There’s something about San Francisco which is hard to describe, it makes me feel something in the same way New York does and it makes me not want to leave. The best thing about a city like San Francisco is that you don’t have to fill your time with ‘doing things’. Of course we did the odd touristy thing; we went to Alcatraz and Pier 39 and the Golden Gate Bridge, but my favourite time in San Francisco was spent just wandering around and looking at it. Looking at the stunning architecture, the amazing parks nestled in between busy city streets, the weird and wonderful people you find in these kinds of cities. That’s what’s great about San Francisco and you could carry on doing that forever.

sanfran

The Golden Gate

pier39

Pier 39 Seals

castro

Harvey Milk Plaza

2) Memphis, TN

Memphis has a great balance between the serious, important history and the fun, musical history (also important). We spent a little longer in Memphis than in some of the other places we went to and split our time between the two most significant things (in my opinion) about Memphis. On the first day we learned about some of Memphis’s musical history. We went to Sun Studio and Graceland and then took a walk down Beale Street for dinner. You really get a feeling from the people in Memphis about how important their musical heritage is to them (I found this in Nashville as well), it’s a huge part of the city’s past and present and you couldn’t go there without experiencing it. There’s plenty of musical attractions which we didn’t get to do and I hope I make it back to them one day. The second day we spent at the National Civil Rights Museum which is at the Lorraine Motel, the place where Martin Luther King was shot. This is a startlingly different part of the city’s history. The involvement which Memphis had in the Civil Rights Movement is monumental and, much like many of the other Southern cities we visited, they are making sure that no one forgets the struggle. This museum is brilliant. It’s both tragic and inspiring and I was so glad that I got the opportunity to visit it.

Elvis's Mic, Sun Studio

Elvis’s Mic, Sun Studio

Elvis Merchandise, Graceland

Elvis Merchandise, Graceland

Lorraine Motel, Civil Rights Museum

Lorraine Motel, Civil Rights Museum

3) Las Vegas, NV

Vegas is where I celebrated my birthday this year. Vegas, as most people would say, is unlike anywhere I’ve ever been before. I can definitely imagine the marmite analogy being used here, you either love it or you hate it. Either way, you should probably go because no amount of explanation can do it justice. Lucky for me I LOVED IT and I’d go back the first chance I got.

Woody and Buzz on the strip

Woody and Buzz on the strip

Bellagio Fountain Show

Bellagio Fountain Show

4) Joshua Tree, CA

On the way from San Diego to Vegas we stopped off at Joshua Tree National Park. We stayed for maybe an hour but it was one of the highlights of my whole trip. We’d spent the whole time going to cities which was great and normally what I prefer, I’m not very outdoorsy you see. Still, what we hadn’t seen much of was the  natural wonders which the US also has in abundance. It was a nice change and I’d love to go back and explore it properly…and maybe in slightly more appropriate clothing!

Not quite hiking attire! Me with a Joshua Tree.

Not quite hiking attire! Me with a Joshua Tree.

5) Charleston, SC

This is somewhere I’d go on holiday when I’m retired. I may not make it back there until I’m 70 but one day I’m going to take a nice relaxing holiday to Charleston, it’s beautiful. Having said that, my 22 year old self had a great time there. This was our first stop and we went to a plantation which gave us a taste of the slave history before getting more emerged in the Deep South. We then just wandered around the streets, it’s a small place but full of that ‘Southern Charm’.

Our first alligator sighting - at the plantation

Our first alligator sighting – at the plantation

Memorial Day Celebrations in Charleston

Memorial Day Celebrations in Charleston

So there we go, I hope you enjoyed reading a bit about my travels and if you’ve been to any of these places, let me know what you thought about them!

That’s all for now

x

Standard

4 thoughts on “My top five places I’ll go back to one day…

  1. I also miss America and I would love to go back to San Fransisco one day again. I am just waiting to an opportunity and will go there wasting no time. I miss the chill weather over there.

    Like

  2. Pingback: Martin Luther King and the speech that changed everything… | My Top Fives...

Leave a Reply

