Family & Home...

My top five things about Christmas…

I know, I know, it’s far too early to even be thinking about Christmas, but I’m afraid I’m going to have to give in and write a little about my favourite time of year. The fact that I’m going home relatively soon for the ‘Winter Break’ has been on my mind a lot this week and the anticipation of seeing all the people I miss combined with it being Christmas 9 days after I get back is just getting too exciting. So in order to channel this excitement into something constructive, I figured I’d try to get it down to the five things which I love about Christmas the most.

Birmingham’s Christmas German Market

1) “Merry Christmas”

One thing I love about Christmas time is the way people are constantly wishing each other a ‘Merry Christmas’. It might seem simple enough but it makes me so happy when even relative strangers take a second to wish me a ‘Merry Christmas’. I notice this especially when working in retail around Christmas, which can be a bit of a nightmare, but for some reason even on the busiest of days, you can’t begrudge a ‘Merry Christmas’ as you hand someone their shopping.

2) Traditions

It’s well known in my family that I take Christmas traditions very seriously. In fact it has become something of a standing joke that each year new ‘traditions’ are added to the list. This insistence of keeping with traditions has left my poor Mother with an endless list of tasks she has to complete to make our family Christmas just right. The main one that springs to mind is the fact that she is still expected to make me and my sisters (bearing in mind that I’m 21 and both of them are in their thirties) advent calendars with individual presents for each of the days leading up to Christmas. It all got a bit ridiculous a few years ago when my oldest sister decided that we should start making them for my parents as well, but still,we did it once so it’s a tradition now and we mustn’t stray from it. Even the little things, like the argument we have every Christmas Eve over what time I’m allowed to wake everyone up the next morning (I tend to start off with a suggestion of 6am, they normally give in around 8.30) I see as a tradition now. Every Christmas I look forward to what new things my family can come up with to add to the long list of traditions.

3) Family Time

I come from an extremely close family and ever since I was little I have looked forward to important occasions so that we could all get together. As the years have gone on and my sisters and I have moved out, it feels like these family occasions happen less and less often, which I suppose is inevitable. However, Christmas is the one time I can count on all of us being together and that’s probably why I look forward to it so much.

4) Everyone’s Christmas is different

One of my favourite things about this time of year is that time when a conversation starts between your group of friends where everyone shares what happens on their own family Christmas. There are discussions over the little things like whether you open presents before or after dinner (after obviously!) and who gets to decorate the tree. I just love how excited everyone gets and the way every family has their own way of doing things which makes their Christmas special.

5) IT’S OK TO BE CHEESY

So I’ve been trying to write this post for a while and I’ve been editing and editing to get it to sound less cheesy. However, I’ve finally come to the conclusion that it’s pretty hard to talk about how much you love Christmas without sounding pretty cheesy. It reminded me of an argument which always occurs in my family (yes, I suppose another tradition) between me and my sisters over how to decorate the Christmas tree. My oldest sister decorates according to a colour theme, be it red and gold or silver and purple and yes it all looks very nice and tasteful. My middle sister and I take the exact opposite approach. Left to our own devices when decorating the tree we never hold back. Every decoration we can find goes on there, things all three of us made in our primary school days, every set of lights and piece of tinsel, it’s all thrown on while dancing around to Christmas songs. My mum always makes jokes about what she calls our ‘tacky’ approach to Christmas decorations but, as far as I’m concerned, Christmas is all about embracing all the tackiness and cheesiness you can.

So there we have it, it’s only mid-November and I’ve already given in to the Christmas hype!

I’m sure I’ll write plenty more blogs before the 25th of December but just in case…MERRY CHRISTMAS!!!

And I’ll leave you with quite possibly the best Christmas song of all time, take a listen and try and tell me you’re not excited!

x

Standard

Leave a Reply

